All exhibitions

Living Space

Dmitry Gretsky, Eugenia Kats

September 6 - October 28, 2017

Rating: 18+

This autumn, the Ekaterina Cultural Foundation will stage yet another exhibition of contemporary Russian art, opening the new season with Dmitry Gretsky and Eugenia Kats's show, Living Space.

Combining paintings, installations, audio and video, the Living Space project is a new reality reflecting a subjective perception of time and personal boundaries. Each of the artists' grand-scale paintings features the actual living space of real people, but there are segments of "alternate" reality incorporated into these "illustrations," be it a spacecraft being launched or a paintball match being played, these details fill the private, inviolable space with surreal overtones. According to the artist, it is this method that "makes it possible to show the labyrinths of proxemics more broadly." This term, proxemics, was introduced by American anthropologist Edward T. Hall in the 1950s to denote the way people construct their microspace and organize their homes. Looking at the Living Space exhibition from this perspective, it may be said that this show is deeply psychological. The characters in the paintings find themselves in a transformed environment, with visitors intruding into their private space, something that mercilessly testifies to the fact that there is no way to keep and hide your private life from the eyes of other people. This contrast between the everyday routine and seemingly absurd situations that the characters are depicted in, between the calm and emotional scenes, between the loose, relaxed poses of the characters and the claustrophobic, cramped spaces - all of this feels both real and impossible at one and the same time.

Dmitry Gretsky has been creating large-scale works for quite a while now, as exemplified by two of his latest shows, Habitat (2015), devoted to the utopian modernist architecture of St. Petersburg and Toronto, and Terracotta Warriors (2013), featuring five big paintings of teenagers.

Dmitry Gretsky and Eugenia Kats were born in St. Petersburg, in 1970, Russia, live and work between St. Petersburg and Toronto. Artist's work is featured in many museums, galleries and private collections, including the State Russian Museum in St. Petersburg, the Moscow Museum of Modern Art, the Ekaterina Cultural Foundation and many more. They are the founders of the Artville Academy of Art and Design, Toronto. The winners of the 4th All-Russian Contest of Original Programs of Artistic Education; long-listed for the Kandinsky Prize; Dmitry Gretsky is the winner of the Project of Kress Foundation, Georgia Museum of Art, USA (2012); nominated for the Sobey Art Award, Canada; nominated for the Innovation Prize, Russia.

 

 

Opening hours

Opening hours (during exhibitions):

Every day, except Mondays
11 a.m. Ė 8 p.m.
Ticket office is open untill 7:30 p.m.

 


Contact us

Address: Moscow, 107996, 21/5 Kuznetsky Most, porch 8, entrance from Bolshaya Lubyanka street

Phone: +7 (495) 621 55 22

Fax: +7 (495) 626 06 89

E-mail: info@ekaterina-foundation.ru



Follow us

ВСЕ ВЫСТАВКИ

Living Space

Дмитрий Грецкий, Евгения Кац

06 сентября – 28 октября 2017 года

Возрастное ограничение: 18+

Организатор: Фонд культуры «ЕКАТЕРИНА»

Спонсор проекта: Группа компаний «Стройтэкс»

Фонд культуры «ЕКАТЕРИНА» продолжает показ выставок, посвящённых современному отечественному искусству. Осенью Фонд открывает новый выставочный сезон проектом Дмитрия Грецкого и Евгении Кац «Living Space».

Проект «Living Space», в котором совмещены живопись, инсталляция, звук и видео, – это новая реальность, отражающая субъективное восприятие времени и личных границ. На каждом из масштабных полотен задокументированы жилые пространства реальных людей, и в каждую из этих «иллюстраций» встроены сюжеты из «параллельной» реальности: взлёт космического корабля, игра в пейнтбол, что наполняет частное, неприкосновенное пространство сюрреалистическим подтекстом. По признанию самого художника, именно этот метод «даёт возможность более широко показать лабиринты проксемики». Этот термин ввёл в 1950-х годах американский антрополог Эдвард Холл, обозначая им то, как человек строит своё микропространство и организует своё жилище. Такой взгляд на выставку «Living Space» позволяет назвать её глубоко психологичной. Изменённая окружающая среда героев картин, в личное пространство которых вторгается посетитель, безжалостно констатирует факт невозможности сохранить и укрыть интимное от чужих глаз. Контраст каждодневной рутины и абсурдных на первый взгляд ситуаций, в которых изображены герои картин, спокойных и эмоциональных сцен, свободных, расслабленных поз героев и давящих, тесных пространств – все это создает ощущение реальности и в то же время невозможности происходящего.

Дмитрий Грецкий давно создаёт крупноформатные произведения. Тому пример две из последних персональных выставок художника: «Habitat», (2015 год), посвящённая утопической модернистской архитектуре Санкт-Петербурга и Торонто, и проект «Terracotta warriors» (2013 год), на котором были представлены пять холстов с монументальными образами подростков.

Дмитрий Грецкий и Евгения Кац родились в Санкт-Петербурге в 1970 году, живут и работают в Петербурге и Торонто. Работы художников находятся во многих музейных собраниях и частных коллекциях: в Государственном Русском музее, Московском музее современного искусства, Фонде культуры «ЕКАТЕРИНА» и других. Основатели Академии Искусства и Дизайна Artville, Торонто. Лауреаты 4-го Всероссийского конкурса авторских программ в области художественного образования; Номинанты Премии Кандинского (лонг-лист); Дмитрий Грецкий победитель проекта Фонда Кресса, Georgia Museum of Art, США (2012); Sobey Art Award, Канада; Национальной Премии «Инновация», Россия.

 

Как мы работаем

Часы работы (во время проведения выставок):

с 11.00 до 20.00
Касса до 19.30

(выходной - понедельник).