The Romanovs and the Holy See: 1613 – 1917. Russia and the Vatican City

Historical and documentary exhibition

Venue: The Exhibition hall of the Federal Archives (Moscow, Russia)

http://go-url.ru/-16131917

The exhibition “The Romanovs and the Holy See: 1613 – 1917. Russia and the Vatican City” opened at the Exhibition hall of the Federal Archives (Moscow, Bolshaya Pirogovskaya Street, 17) on December 14, 2017. The Ekaterina Cultural Foundation is one of the partners of this project.

The exhibition covers the history of relations between the Holy See and the Russian Empire under the House of Romanov. Two sections of the exhibition deal with the history of earlier contacts between the Grand Duchy and then Tsardom of Muscovy and Rome.

After the Romanov family became rulers of Russia, the country’s relationships with the Holy See became permanent. During the reign of Peter the Great, crucial changes in religious policy took place in Russia allowing the construction of the country's first Catholic churches. They grew in numbers under Empress Catherine the Great, who also enacted legislation defining the status of the Roman Catholic Church in Russia. Under Alexander I Russia opened its first embassy in the Vatican City, while Nicholas I oversaw the signing of the first ever treaty between the two countries. The diplomatic ties between Russia and the Holy See were severed in 1876 only to be reestablished by Alexander III, who reopened Russia's embassy at the Vatican as the sides discussed opening a nunciature in Russia. As Russia faced numerous crises both in foreign and internal affairs during the reign of Nicholas II, the relations between Russia and the Holy See became somewhat tense. However the ties were completely severed only following the 1917 Russian Revolution as the Bolsheviks denounced religion and made atheism their national policy.

The exhibition features around 250 historical artifacts and documents from major Russian archives and museums, such as the State Archive of the Russian Federation, the Russian State Archive of Ancient Acts, the Russian State Historical Archive, the Moscow Kremlin Museums, the State Hermitage Museum, the State Russian Museum, the State Tretyakov Gallery, the State Historical Museum, the State Museum of the History of Religion, the Pavlovsk State Museum Reserve. Unique documents were provided by the Archive of the Foreign Affairs of the Russian Empire of the Historical and Document Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation and the Vatican Secret Archive.

The visitors will also see portraits of Russian emperors and Popes as well as paintings with views of Rome, Moscow and Saint Petersburg, scenes of church services, the interiors of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome and the halls of the Vatican, items used during Catholic services and robes worn by Catholic clergy.

 

Opening hours

Opening hours (during exhibitions):

Every day, except Mondays
11 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Ticket office is open untill 7:30 p.m.

 


Contact us

Address: Moscow, 107996, 21/5 Kuznetsky Most, porch 8, entrance from Bolshaya Lubyanka street

Phone: +7 (495) 621 55 22

Fax: +7 (495) 626 06 89

E-mail: info@ekaterina-foundation.ru



Follow us

Романовы и Папский престол: 1613 – 1917. Россия и Ватикан

Историко-документальная выставка

Место проведения: Выставочный зал федеральных архивов (г. Москва)

http://rusarchives.ru/

С 14 декабря 2017 по 18 февраля 2018 года в Выставочном зале федеральных архивов (Москва, ул. Б. Пироговская, д. 17) проходит выставка «Романовы и Папский престол: 1613 - 1917. Россия и Ватикан». Фонд культуры «ЕКАТЕРИНА» является одним из партнёров данного выставочного проекта.

Выставка посвящена истории отношений между Россией и Святым престолом в эпоху царствования династии Романовых. Два раздела экспозиции затрагивают и более ранние страницы истории контактов Московского государства с Римом.

С воцарением династии Романовых связи России со Святым престолом становятся постоянными. При Петре I происходят важные перемены в конфессиональной политике, строятся первые католические храмы. При императрице Екатерине II увеличивается число римско-католических епархий в империи, появляются законы, регулирующие положение католической церкви. В царствование Александра I открыто постоянное представительство России при Святом престоле, а во время правления Николая I – подписан первый в многовековой истории наших государств договор. Прерванные в 1867 г., дипломатические отношения возобновились при императоре Александре III. Было восстановлено постоянное российское представительство в Ватикане, обсуждался вопрос о создании нунциатуры в России. Сложная и напряженная внешне- и внутриполитическая обстановка царствования императора Николая II привела к некоторому обострению отношений с Ватиканом. Однако полный их разрыв произошел лишь в результате Российской революции 1917 г. и установления в стране атеистического режима.

На выставке демонстрировались около 250 исторических предметов и архивных документов из крупнейших архивов и музеев России: Государственного архива Российской Федерации, Российского государственного архива древних актов, Российского государственного исторического архива, Музеев Московского Кремля, Государственного Эрмитажа, Государственного Русского музея, Государственной Третьяковской галереи, Государственного исторического музея, Государственного музея истории религии, Государственного музея-заповедника «Павловск». Уникальные документы предоставил Архив внешней политики Российской империи Историко-документального департамента МИД России и Секретный архив Ватикана.

Посетители также увидели портреты российских императоров и римских пап, живописные полотна, представляющие виды Рима, Москвы, Петербурга, сцены богослужений, интерьеры собора Святого Петра в Риме и залов Ватикана, предметы католического богослужения, одеяния католических священников.

 

Как мы работаем

Часы работы (во время проведения выставок):

с 11.00 до 20.00
Касса до 19.30

(выходной - понедельник).